The U.S. government gave the Electronic Security Association (ESA), Irving, Texas, a choice seat at the table for establishing the direction of Homeland Security as it involves the nation’s emergency service industry.

ESA became a member of the Emergency Services Sector Coordinating Council (ESSCC), which was created by the Department of Homeland Security in 2004 as a vehicle for coordinating the actions and capabilities of the Emergency Services Sector. This includes law enforcement, fire service, search and rescue, medical personnel and other first responders.

ESA’s role will be to represent the leadership of the electronic life safety and security industry within the council, providing general direction to the group and working with other participating members. John Chwat, director of government relations for ESA, will be the association’s representative on the council, and ESA executive director Merlin Guilbeau will serve as the alternate.

The ESS is a primary “protector” for other Critical Infrastructure and Key Resources (CIKR) sectors.

Other ESSCC members include the Central Station Alarm Association, National Association of State Fire Marshals, International Association of Chiefs of Police, International Association of Emergency Managers, and a number of other high-profile associations. For information, visit