Charles “Dom” D’Ascoli, president and CEO of Smoky Mountain Systems in Franklin, N.C., received the 2013 Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year Award from the Electronic Security Association (ESA) on Thursday, June 27 during the ESA Annual Meeting and Industry Luncheon at the Electronic Security Expo (ESX) in Nashville, Tenn.

ESA annually gives out its highest honor in recognition of outstanding achievement and ongoing efforts by an individual on behalf of the association. First presented in 1970, the award was initiated by the family of Morris F. Weinstock to honor the lifetime work of ESA’s co-founder and past president.

Charles Dom D'Ascoli
D'Ascoli is the 2013 recipient of the Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year Award.

D’Ascoli became involved in the security industry in 1982 when he founded Smoky Mountain Systems Inc. Shortly after its incorporation, he saw the need to become involved in the association to effect positive change.

In 1984, he joined the Georgia Electronic Life Safety and Systems Association (GELSSA) where he served three years as secretary. In 1995, D’Ascoli joined the North Carolina Electronic Security Association (NCESA) and served one term as vice president, one term as treasurer, and two nonconsecutive terms as president.

At ESA, D’Ascoli’s roles have included chairman of the Standards committee, as well as being part of the Elections, Investment and National Training School (NTS) committees. In 2007, he was elected as an ESA vice president, and served in that capacity before becoming president in 2010.

ESA President John Knox said D’Ascoli’s devotion to and leadership within the association led to his selection.

“I know about his dedication and the amount of time he’s spent on the association,” Knox said. “I’ve seen it first-hand, so it was a very easy decision. He’s served unselfishly, and, so many times, I’ve watched him put his own company’s business aside to take care of ESA business first.”

 During the luncheon, D’Ascoli was presented with an honorary Weinstock lapel pin, which is given to each award recipient to signify their distinct achievement, along with an engraved plaque. Additionally, attendees enjoyed fun congratulatory videos followed by a brief acceptance speech from D’Ascoli.