NICET (the National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technologies) has just released the examination for the new Video Security Systems Technician Level IV certification. The opening of this computer-based test marks the completion of the VSST program.

Level IV is the highest possible certification for Video Security Systems Technicians. It represents demonstrated knowledge and experience with “Type C” systems – large, networked video security systems.  Information about this program is available at:

CCTV technicians and designers who work on Types A and B systems can now demonstrate their qualifications with a NICET certification. NICET’s system types (A, B, and C) were defined by a group of subject matter experts as a way of relating each level of certification to a type of CCTV system. This matching of qualifications to system type will bring value to integrators and to buyers, and will allow experienced VSS designers and technicians to advance their careers with nationally recognized credentials. VSS designers can apply for Level I now. VSS technicians can apply for Levels I through IV now. NICET’s career track provides a ladder of valuable credentials beginning with the entry-level and extending through the most experienced designers and technicians in the VSS industry.

Certification at particular levels is achieved by demonstrating knowledge and experience working with video security systems classified as type A, B, or C. VSS Designer I designs types A and B, and Designer II designs all three. VSS Technician I is in training and assists on projects. VSS Technician II installs Type A, Technician III installs Type A and B, and Technician IV installs all three. (VSS Designer II is expected to be available in September 2007.) Type A Systems are basic systems with standard components, low bandwidth transmission, and menu-driven set-up:
  • Multiplexer/VCR
  • Quad/VCR
  • Digital video recorders with time/date, play/record, and anti-tamper functions
  • Sequential switch
  • Single keyboard Indoor/outdoor
  • Standard cable runs not requiring repeaters or amplifiers (less than 800 ft. for coaxial; less than 1500 ft. for twisted pair)
Type B Systems can include specialized components, programmable controls, and high bandwidth transmission:
  • PTZ Multiple keyboards
  • Matrix interfaced with alarms, A/C, or intercom (GPI or dry contact)
  • Digital video recorders with programmable, alarm-based resolution and frame rate
  • Fiber transmission systems
  • Low light
  • Long cable runs
  • Covert or portable systems
  • RF modulators
Type C Systems can include PCs, serial communication, and wireless transmission:
  • Integrated systems/serial communications/GUIs
  • LANs/WANs
  • Remote systems
  • Microwave and IR transmission
  • Digital video recorders with remote interface
The security industry requested NICET to create this new credential because of the security industry’s need for a skilled and knowledgeable workforce, and NICET’s reputation as the leader in providing certification for engineering technicians. NICET worked hand-in-hand with leading organizations such as Security Industry Association, National Systems Contractors Association, and PSA Security Network; major companies such as Pelco, Bosch Security Systems, Tyco Fire & Security, Panasonic System Solutions Company, and Dedicated Micros; and 35 integrators who shared their practical expertise. This coalition of subject matter experts identified industry needs and designed a certification program that promotes technical knowledge and skills. The resulting program lays out career paths for VSS technicians and designers and helps supply industries and employers with a credentialed workforce.

For additional information or questions pertaining to NICET Certification, please contact NICET at: (888) 476-4238 or visit the NICET website at