James D. Orvis was presented with the 2009 Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year Award during a ceremony at the Electronic Security Expo held in mid-June in Pittsburgh. In memory of Morris F. Weinstock’s contributions to the industry, this award is presented in grateful appreciation for outstanding individual achievement and continued efforts on behalf of the Electronic Security Association (ESA) and the industry. It was first presented in 1970.


Orvis, known as “Jamie” to those in the industry, began working in security at a very young age, helping his father and attending association meetings with him. Orvis is currently president of Security Solutions Inc., in Wilton, Conn., and has a long history of industry involvement at both the Connecticut state chapter and national levels. He served three terms (1998 to 2004) as executive committee vice president, and chaired the Public Relations Committee.


Orvis is especially well known for his work as treasurer of the Alarm Industry Research and Educational Foundation (AIREF). He was the founder of the AIREF Golf Classic, a tournament which, to date, has raised more than $500,000 which has been used for both industry research and National Training School courses, ESA said.


“Orvis’ dedication and work on behalf of the electronic security industry, his leadership on both the state and national levels, and his work on committees, as treasurer of AIREF and as co-chair of the AIREF Golf Classic, have earned him this distinguished award. As the 2009 Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year recipient, he exemplifies the qualities and characteristics the award was designed to acknowledge,” ESA stated.


UTC Fire & Security sponsored the Morris F. Weinstock Award.


David Koenig was chosen to receive the Sara E. Jackson Memorial Award. This award is named in honor of the woman was served as president of the National Burglar & Fire Alarm Association (now ESA) from 1950 to 1951, and is presented annually to an ESA committee chair who displays outstanding leadership.


“David has been the treasurer of ESA since 2007 and has been instrumental in the continued financial stability and stewardship of the association,” said ESA immediate past president Michael A. Miller.


Koenig, who is a partner with Capital Lock Inc., Madison, Wis., has been in the security industry since 1981. Not only is he the treasurer of the ESA Executive Committee, Koenig also serves as assistant treasurer for the ESA Political Action Committee, treasurer of Security America Risk Retention Group, and executive committee liaison to the ESA Education and Training Committee. It is his work as chairman of the ESA Budget/Audit Committee and chairman of the Investment Committee for which Koenig was recognized for this award, ESA stated.


Honeywell sponsored the Sara E. Jackson Memorial Award.