The Partnership for Priority Verified Alarm Response (PPVAR), an organization established to promote the value of verification and validation of alarm events during the emergency response process, announced its new president and secretary for the 2023-2024 board.  

The 2023-’24 term will be led by President Mark McCall, who serves as director of global operations for IMMIX. McCall takes over from Immediate Past-President David Holl, director of public safety for Lower Allen Township, Pa.  

The PPVAR board is structured to alternate the role of president between the alarm industry and public safety each term. 

McCall commented on his new role at PPVAR, stating, “I have long believed that PPVAR is in a unique position to bridge the gap between the security industry and Public Safety and push forward topics that were important to both. They certainly have proven that over the past few years, as evidenced, in part, by pushing for and working with TMA in the creation of the AVS-01 Standard. I am honored to be a part of PPVAR and look forward to working with our members to advance our mission.”  

Podcast with Mark McCall: Why the TMA-AVS-01 Alarm Verification Standard Could Be a Game Changer

Kristy Johnson, director of integrations at ADT, has been voted to the PPVAR secretary role. She remarked, “The electronic security industry plays a vital role in protecting life and property. However, it is just one piece of a larger picture, heavily reliant on collaboration with law enforcement and public safety partners. When I joined the industry in 2012, I discovered a significant issue concerning false alarms leading to unnecessary police dispatches. This realization motivated me to work passionately on bridging the gaps within our industry, and in my various roles throughout my time in the industry, I’ve remained dedicated to correct this discrepancy. My mission is to enhance the sector by focusing on solutions that make the best use of our combined resources and form true partnerships with public safety. My commitment to prioritized and verified alarm responses drives my enthusiasm to assume a more formal role within PPVAR and actively contribute to these ongoing efforts.” 

The complete board includes the following: 

  • Mark McCall - President
  • Frank Fernandez - Vice President
  • Joey Rao-Russell - Treasurer
  • Kristy Johnson - Secretary
  • David Holl - Immediate Past-President
  • Rob Baxter
  • John Chiaramonte
  • Bob Finney
  • Larry Folsom
  • Scott Harkins
  • Andy King
  • Tom Nakatani
  • Steve Walker
  • Jeanne Palmer-Wulforst - Executive Director

PPVAR’s board represents a balanced team of professionals from the public safety, electronic security, alarm monitoring industries and consultants in these fields. Each one has demonstrated exceptional commitment to their industry and is dedicated to improving public safety. 

Each of the individuals enjoys excellent relationships across public and private sectors, and each brings a unique perspective on the issues related to the alarm response process. Their collective expertise and diverse insights ensure PPVAR’s mission to encourage the exploration and adoption of proven alarm verification technologies.  

To learn more about PPVAR, go here