NBFAA Vice President George Gunning of the California Alarm Association (right) receives the 2003 Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year Award from 2002 winner and NBFAA immediate past president Bart Didden.

NBFAA Elections Committee Chair Dan Budinoff receives the 2004 Sara E. Jackson Award from 2003 winner and NBFAA Communications/PR Committee Chair Tony Smith (right).
The National Burglar & Fire Alarm Association (NBFAA), Silver Spring, Md., bestowed its most prestigious honor – the 2003 Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year Award – to NBFAA vice president George Gunning in recognition of a lifetime of service to the electronic life safety, security, and systems industry. The NBFAA also honored NBFAA elections committee chairman Dan Budinoff for his contributions to the association and the industry by presenting him with the 2004 Sara E. Jackson Award. The awards were presented at an evening event hosted by NBFAA and the Alarm Industry Research & Educational Foundation (AIREF) at ISC in Las Vegas.

Gunning, CEO of USA Alarm Systems in Monrovia, Calif., was presented the award for demonstrated, proven dedication during his more than 23 years as a member of the industry. He has been an active member of local, state, and national trade associations throughout the years, holding a variety of leadership positions. He has spent many years helping to enhance the professional status of the industry through state licensing and ongoing training for industry professionals.

In his acceptance speech, Gunning confirmed his tremendous dedication to the industry and urged others to do the same. “Be proud of this industry and the work you do,” he exclaimed. “We make a difference in this world, and we need to let everyone know that.”

The family of the NBFAA co-founder and past president initiated the award’s creation to honor Weinstock’s contributions to the industry.

The Sara E. Jackson Award is named in honor of the 1950-51 NBFAA president and is presented annually to an NBFAA committee chair that has displayed outstanding leadership.

This year’s Jackson Award winner, Budinoff, is president of Security Specialists of Greenwich, Conn., and has been a member of the electronic life safety, security, and systems industry for more than 25 years and has remained politically active within the industry in a variety of ways. He has served terms as an NBFAA vice president and president of the Connecticut Burglar & Fire Alarm Association, and was the founding president of the Westchester Regional Alarm Association. Budinoff has been a member of the NBFAA Education Committee and has headed the NBFAA Elections Committee since 2001. His political activeness also led him to participate in all of the Regional Bell Operating Company legislative blitzes in Washington, D.C.

More information about NBFAA is available at the association website, www.alarm.org, or by calling (301) 585-1855.