The Illinois Security Professionals Association (ISPA) held its 57th annual awards gala on Dec. 4 to recognize 41 security professionals who exceeded the standard of excellence in their careers and professional positions during 2018. The ISPA has recognized and awarded such exemplary first responders and security professionals for over half a century at its prestigious annual event.

"The awards gala brings together both the public and private sector, including security, law enforcement, fire, emergency management and Homeland Security,” said Lawrence A. Doria, board chairman. “We work together as a family of first responders to protect the lives and businesses of the citizens of Illinois.” 

"It was an amazing experience to look out on the crowd and see so many talented and experienced professionals dedicated to public safety,” said ISPA President Paul Ohm, CPP. “I look forward to what the new year brings as we strive to create opportunity for our members to grow as professionals and impact the communities in which they work.”

The ultimate mission of the ISPA is to advance the knowledge, professionalism and expertise of the private security industry and those involved at all levels. This is accomplished by offering continuing professional education programs and advanced level programming, in addition to strategically planned networking events.

This year's ISPA awardees represent a wide variety of security and first responders throughout Illinois, and are nominated by their colleagues. Receiving the Lindberg Bell Security Executive of the Year Award is Christina Duffey, SOS Security; the Laurence P. Mulcrone Lifetime Achievement Award went to Christopher Thornton, Allied Universal Security; the Line of Duty Award went to Commander Paul Bauer, Chicago Police Department; and the Law Enforcement Official of the Year Award went to Superintendent Eddie Johnson, Chicago Police Department.

See the complete list of the 2018 ISPA Awardees here.