LJ Lynes was presented the 2011 Sara E Jackson Award for his outstanding work as chairman of the education committee. On hand to present the award were sponsor Ron Rothman of Honeywell, ESA President Dom D'Ascoli and last year's Jackson award winner David Koenig.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, N.C., was the venue at which the Electronic Security Association announced its 2011 Sara E. Jackson Memorial Award winner and 2010 Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year Award winner. These both are annual awards that recognize one individual for outstanding committee leadership and another for absolute devotion to the security industry, respectively.

As Honeywell sponsors the Sara E. Jackson Memorial Award, Ron Rothman spoke about the dynamic impact that Sara Jackson herself had on the National Burglar & Fire Alarm Association during the 1950s. Rothman introduced last year’s award winner, ESA Treasurer, David Koenig, who announced LJ Lynes, national training instructor at Stanley Security Solutions, as the 2011 recipient. Lynes took over as chairman of the Education Committee following the untimely death of Paul Baran last year (Baran and Lynes had been co-chairs).

Koenig described Lynes as “the hands-down winner. Very passionate, very opinionated and works extremely hard. It takes leadership to move a committee forward,” Koenig said in presenting the award.

The 2010 Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year Award was sponsored by Interlogix and introduced by Kirk MacDowell. First presented in 1970, this award was initiated by the family of Morris F. Weinstock to honor the lifetime work of the ESA co-founder and past president. Last year’s award winner, Jamie Orvis, called up past award recipients to the stage — showing the high caliber of industry professionals who have received this award over time, including such people as Bob Bonifas, Ralph Sevinor, Stan Martin, Patrick Egan, Charles Darsch, and so many more.

Michael Miller and his wife Debby display his 2010 Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year Award and the latest issue of Newsline which features him on the cover. On hand to help him celebrate were (from left to right) his sisters Laurel Heinemann, Jolene Nelson and his mother Ruth Ann Pound. Past recipients of the Weinstock award were also on stage to honor Miller on his accomplishments.

To introduce the audience to the current award winner, Orvis ran a video presentation that showed this person in photographs over time, until his identity was revealed as Michael A. Miller, immediate past president of ESA and vice president of Moon Security Services. Miller has been active with ESA nationally since 1991. Upon accepting the award, he spoke sincerely about how taking on the role has enriched his life. Miller’s wife, as well as his mother and sisters who work in the family business, accompanied him on stage.

In addition to presenting these awards, the ESA recognized its 2011 Executive Strategic Partners on stage with plaques:

Diamond level – Interlogix

Platinum level – Honeywell

Gold level – Tri-Ed / Northern Video Distribution; Telguard, a div. of Telular Corp.

Silver level – ADI Distribution; Altronix; Diebold; Security America