The Security Industry Alarm Coalition presented Jay Hauhn with the 2011 William N. Moody Award on June 7 at the ESX Icebreaker Luncheon in Charlotte. Hauhn received the award for his devotion to improved alarm management practices across the United States, SIAC remarked. The Moody Award annually recognizes excellence and commitment to alarm management issues, and reflects the attributes of Bill Moody, including integrity, fairness and perseverance in the face of adversity.

Hauhn serves as chief technology officer and vice president of industry relations for ADT Security Services, the world’s largest provider of electronic security services. SIAC selected Hauhn for his dedication not just the past year, but over the past several years, in helping the electronic security industry and SIAC extend their progress in new venues and directions.

In particular, Stan Martin, executive director of SIAC, lauded Hauhn’s efforts in ensuring funding is sustained for critical efforts across the country. “It’s no secret that funding for organizations like SIAC has been tighter the past several years. Jay stepped forward, took the lead, and single-handedly brought in several major donations that allowed us to keep delivering programs and messages to support the electronic security industry. We couldn’t do what we do without him,” Martin observed.

“Beyond the funding issue, Jay participates actively in the board, sharing his broad industry experience and knowledge in a way that helps us extend best alarm management practices to many jurisdictions. His ideas build critical support for our mission, and attract new companies that embrace alarm reduction goals,” Martin added.

As vice president of industry relations, Jay has executive responsibility for all interaction with industry associations and regulatory agencies as well as state and federal governments.  He sits on the board of directors of the Central Station Alarm Association, the Security Industry Alarm Coalition, and the Security Industry Association.  He is chairman of the Electronic Security Associations government relations committee.  Jay is also the chairman-elect of the Security Industry Association.  

The William N. Moody award was created in 2004 by the SIAC board of directors.