The Monitoring Association’s (TMA) highest honor, the Stanley C. Lott Memorial Award for Exemplary Service, was presented to former TMA president and past executive director Jay Hauhn at the 2019 Annual Meeting in Napa, Calif. on Oct. 16. The award honors Hauhn’s dedication and service to TMA and the monitoring industry over the course of his career, which spans more than 40 years.  

This award was created to honor the memory of Stanley C. Lott, a TMA past president (1985-1987) renowned for his above-and-beyond efforts to lead and financially support the association through difficult times.

“There are few individuals like Jay who has sustained such significant contributions to TMA and our industry,” said former TMA president, Ivan Spector, who presented the award to Hauhn. “I have had the distinct honor to work with him both as an association leader and as an industry executive with ADT. He played an integral role in the successful development and implementation of TMA’s ASAP-to-PSAP service — a program he continues to promote today.” 

Hauhn was admittedly caught off-guard by the prestigious award. “It was quite unexpected,” Hauhn said. “Especially given the list of previous winners, I was overwhelmed and humbled by Ivan’s comments and the award presentation. It has been an honor to be of service to TMA and a great reward to contribute to some of the industry’s most critical programs."

Find out more about the Stanley C. Lott Award and view the list of recipients since 1991 at