Past winners of the Morris F. Weinstock Award stand behind this year’s Person of the Year, Dan Budinoff, as he accept the award. PHOTO BY SDM STAFF


On Tuesday night, ESX attendees came together in the Grand Ballroom of the Renaissance Hotel in Nashville to honor two people whose contributions to the industry have made them stand out.

ESA’s Sara E. Jackson Memorial Award was presented to Bob McVeigh, vice president and general manager of Security Solutions Inc. McVeigh has been chairperson of the Industry Affairs committee since January of 2008, but has contributed to various efforts in the association.

According to ESA, McVeigh has filled the role of “go-to” guy for the association, taking on leadership roles in his committee and the association, but also contributing his time and expertise to educate the industry and be an insightful guide to others. His presence in the industry spans more than 20 years, during which he has done everything from sales operations and marketing to being fully responsible for company operations as he is in his current position.

Dan Budinoff was named the Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year. Budinoff is the president and owner of Security Specialists in Stamford, Conn. and has supported ESA for more than 35 years.

Among Budinoff’s endless list of contributions, he was instrumental in the founding and formation of the National Training School (NTS) and served as an instructor. He was the recipient of the 2004 Sara E. Jackson award for his work in the education and training committee from 1987 to 2002, serving as vice chairman of the NTS committee from 1993 to 2003 and as chairman of the election committee from 2001 to 2004. Budinoff also held officer positions in the Connecticut and New York alarm associations. In addition, he currently serves as a Class C representative on the security America Risk Retention Group board of directors.

Bob McVeigh receives this year’s Sara E. Jackson Award. From left to right: Scott Harkins, Honeywell (sponsor of the award); Dom D’Ascoli, president of ESA; Bob McVeigh; and LJ Lynes, last year’s recipient of the award. PHOTO BY SDM STAFF