The 2014 Electronic Security Expo (ESX) opened to attendees at the Music City Center in Nashville, Tenn., this week.

Electronic Security Association (ESA) President John Knox and Central Station Alarm Association (CSAA) President Jay Hauhn officially cut the ceremonial ribbon and invited hundreds of security professionals into the expo that featured almost 200 exhibitors. Nearly every category was represented on the show floor including video, access, intrusion, fire and central station technologies, as well as emerging product opportunities such as automation, information technology and audio/visual.

ESX features not only an expo, but also a full slate of educational sessions covering multiple tracks, networking events, keynote speakers, and awards. At the conference luncheon held on Tuesday, winners of the PDQ Award, Marketing Marvel Award, and Moody Award were announced.

Monitronics was awarded the 2013 Annual Police Dispatch Quality (PDQ) Award from the Security Industry Alarm Coalition (SIAC) and the False Alarm Reduction Association (FARA). The award recognizes one security company each year that best demonstrates proactive and innovative false alarm reduction strategies while building positive and beneficial partnerships with local law enforcement and emergency personnel. Read the full story here.

Engineered Protection Systems (EPS) was announced as the 2014 Marketing Marvel Award winner, recognizing its work in promoting its CSAA Five Diamond status.

Ron Walters accepts Moody Award on a stage filled with many of the past winners.

Ron Walters was presented with the 2014 Wiliam N. Moody Award, given to acknowledge individuals who unselfishly give of their time and talents to alarm management issues and who reflect the attributes of Bill Moody which include integrity, fairness and perseverance in the face of adversity.

Stan Martin, executive director of SIAC, a representative of the alarm industry on alarm management issues,shared with SDM that itwas an honor to recognize Ron as the William N. Moody recipient for 2014.

“Ron has served this industry for more than 30 years, with 18 of them spent working for the industry’s alarm management program. Much of SIAC's success can be attributed to Ron’s work with ESA chapters, standards committees, education and ordinance expertise,” Martin emphasized. “Formal recognition for his contributions was long past due, and he truly deserves the honor.”

In related news, it was announced that Martin was appointed the co-chair of the crime prevention and private security committee for the National Sheriffs Association (NSA). “This enhances our relationship and commitment to work even closer with the sheriffs,” Martin said. 


Representatives from COPS Monitoring pose on stage during ESX after being named the Central Station Excellence Awards’ Central Station of the Year. Holding the trophy is COPS Monitoring’s Maria Malice.

Winners of the CSAA’s Central Station Excellence Awards, sponsored by SDM, were announced at a breakfast on Wednesday morning. The Excellence Awards recognize any FM Global, Intertek/ETL or UL-listed central station and outstanding personnel who perform in the highest professional manner, thereby making a significant contribution to the betterment of the alarm industry and the alarm profession while demonstrating exceptional service to their customers and community.

Taking the Central Station of the Year Award was COPS Monitoring. From its six centrals, COPS monitors nearly 1.1 million subscribers through 3,500 alarm companies.

Central Station Manager of the Year was awarded to Chris Newhook, central station manager at American Alarm & Communications Inc.

Central Station Operator of the Year was awarded to Tracey Crews, central station lead operator at Cooperative Response Center Inc.

Central Station Support Person of the Year was awarded to Mark Simpson, manager central station services at RFI Security Inc.

Look for the full story of the winners and their achievements in SDM’s August 2014 edition.


Explorer Tom Avery shared with ESX attendees his story of recreating Robert Peary’s journey to the North Pole.

The keynote luncheon, which was sponsored by Security America RRG, took place on Wednesday, and featured Tom Avery, an internationally acclaimed British explorer. He is one of only 41 people in history to have reached both the North and South Poles on foot and a veteran of more than a dozen mountain and polar expeditions.

Avery spoke to his experience of living life beyond the limits — sharing how one person can make a difference beyond personal limitations to achieve his/her goals. He also vividly addressed the power of teams and the tipping point when the sum of parts becomes greater than the whole, while sharing detailed stories regarding his expeditions and near-death experiences.

“Team spirit is the glue that holds us all together,” he said.

ESX also announced the winners of the annual Maximum Impact Awards during the show. The awards — which honor the impact new and recently introduced products and services have on security integration and monitoring companies — were delivered to this year’s winners by John Cerasuolo, chief executive officer of ADS Security, Nashville, Tenn. A panel of judges selected the winners for their excellence in helping integration and monitoring companies meet customer expectations, increase company profits, and streamline operations. Honeywell’s LYNX 7000 was awarded Best Overall Winner by the panel of integrator judges.

This Web-based access control system with Ethernet virtual loop (EVL) technology – NetAXS-123 5.0 EVL – enables integrators to provide simple, scalable and affordable access control to small and mid-sized businesses. The system’s scalability drives sales, increases revenue and provides upselling opportunities as customers expand their access control solution.

In total, more than 20 awards were handed out to companies whose products and services are making a difference for the businesses using them. Read the full list of winners here