The Monitoring Association (TMA) announced the finalists for its 2020 Excellence Awards. TMA’s Monitoring Center Excellence Awards recognize any FM Approvals, Intertek/ETL or UL-listed monitoring center (TMA members and non-members) and outstanding personnel who perform in the highest professional manner, thereby making a significant contribution to the betterment of the alarm industry and the alarm profession while demonstrating exceptional service to their customers and community. The 2020 TMA Monitoring Center Excellence Awards recipients will be profiled in the August issue of SDM.

The finalists, listed alphabetically in each category are:

2020 TMA Monitoring Center of the Year

  • AvantGuard Monitoring Services, LLC.
  • Rapid Response Monitoring Services
  • Securitas Electronic Security, Inc.

2020 TMA Manager of the Year

  • Jacqueline Brogan, Alarm Detection Systems
  • Bill Fisher, Universal Atlantic Systems

2020 TMA Operator of the Year

  • Rebecca Nadasky, Alarm Detection Systems
  • Amanda Edmunds, AvantGuard Monitoring Services, LLC.

2020 TMA Support Person of the Year

  • Gavin Butterfield, AvantGuard Monitoring Services, LLC.
  • Tameka Jordan, General Monitoring Services

TMA’s Monitoring Center Excellence Awards are co-sponsored by SDM. Entries are judged by a blue-ribbon volunteer judging panel appointed by TMA. The four winners will be announced at a virtual award ceremony presented via GoToWebinar on Wednesday, June 17, 2020 at 11:00 AM.

The purpose of the awards program is to establish and promote the inherent value of professional monitoring services in general; to honor those who have made the most significant contributions to the service; and to promote the distinct level of professionalism attained by NRTL-approved monitoring centers.

“I relish being in a position to recognize companies and professionals in security monitoring and system integrations that have so clearly demonstrated excellence,” said TMA President Don Young. “This year’s finalists have raised the bar for professionalism, performance, and quality of service. Their achievements challenge and inspire all of us to renew our own commitment to excellence in our work.” 

For past winners and more information, visit To read about the last year's recipients, visit